311. Group Discussion at Sofia University, Part 1

Sophia-group-CompWhile out in California for the Science and Nonduality Conference, I had some downtime before the conference started, so I decided to tape a long panel discussion with a rather large group of friends, most of them previous guests on Batgap. Sofia University in Palo Alto (where transpersonal psychology was founded by Abraham Maslow and others), generously provided a room and video equipment. I’m especially grateful to Dr. Jeffery Martin, who conducts research there, for offering and organizing this. It was an experiment, and some were skeptical that it would work, but it did! This is part 1. Part 2 will be posted shortly. Main points of discussion in this part include:

  • What are awakening and enlightenment? Are we on the same page? Discussion goes into direct experiencing of different states, levels and depths of consciousness in the evolution of the progressive, dynamic process of awakening.
  • What is identity and identification in different stages in the evolution of consciousness and the journey of the dissolution of self?
  • What is the value of words and the use of semantics in the discussion of awakening and Self-realization?
  • Is awakening lost in the experience of our brokenness? In the face of deep emotional trauma or when life shatters, what happens? Is there an abiding, unmoving stability that is unshakeable in all circumstances?
  • The evolution of our humanity as an expression of the divine and the importance of continued growth and refinement in the awakening journey.

Participants in the morning session included:

Name Other Batgap Interview(s) Website(s)
Chuck Hillig 7/21/2010 chuckhillig.com
Clare Blanchflower clareblanchflower.com
Craig Holliday 1/3/2015, 12/19/2018*, 10/25/2019* craigholliday.com
Dana Sawyer 9/29/2010, 2/9/2014*, 3/19/2016 dana-sawyer.com
David Buckland 9/25/201510/27/2017* davidya.ca
David Ellzey 1/16/2016 davidellzey.com
Francis Bennett 8/4/2012, 4/21/2013* 10/26/2013*, 5/24/2014*, 10/23/2014*, 10/21/2016, 10/25/2016* Facebook page
Jeffery Martin 1/25/2017 drjefferymartin.com
nonsymbolic.org
Kiran Trace 11/2/2013, 09/24/2015 kirantrace.com
Kristin Kirk 2/16/2014, 5/24/2014* kristinkirk.com
Laurie Moore 7/21/2012, 10/24/2013 counselingscottsvalley.us
animiracles.com
Mariana Caplan 2/3/2012, 1/6/2013, 10/25/2019* realspirituality.com
Rick Archer 6/5/2010, 3/16/2013, 5/11/2014, 10/23/2015, 10/24/2016, 10/21/2017, 12/19/2018*, 10/25/2019*10/27/2019 You’re on it.
Susanne Marie 7/7/2013, 10/24/2014*, 10/23/2016* susannemarie.org

*In group discussion.

Part 2 of this discussion

Recorded 10/22/2015

Video and audio below. Audio also available as a Podcast.

Save

Save